Channeling Rhizomes.

I’m up at nearly midnight, hunched over my computer,  trying to write 140 character stories (including spaces) that must also include 1/3 of the words from another 140 word story (including spaces) written by someone else in the spirit of Deleuze and Guattari’s rhizome theory and concept of the assemblage. I’m starting by choosing the words I want to use from the existing stories.I feel like I’m in writing class all over again, and I like it. Sometimes a writing exercize really forces you to refine what you are trying to do with your writing. Especially when you are extremely limited in some way. Or restricted, I suppose I mean. Constrained. Sometimes that is when the true lingual acrobatics are on display for all to see. We shall see, I suppose. It’s for this thing Steel Bananas is doing. Sometimes I think some of the best stories I’ve ever written were the shortest. Though this is a tad shorter than I usually make them. Ha.

~ by M. on July 5, 2009.

Leave a comment